Normally, your staff can't lock POS after they've added an item to an order. However, by selecting Allow orders on locked workstations to be retrieved on any workstation in Workstation Group > Group, your staff will be able to lock and retrieve orders across that workstation group.
Locking and retrieving an order refers to a user locking a workstation while it has an active order. POS saves the order, so it will appear next time the user logs in to that workstation, or a different workstation in that workstation group. After they lock the workstation, other users can unlock it to start a new order, but the original user's order will not appear. The order can only be retrieved by the user that locked it.
Lock and retrieve is ideal for setups where staff need to share workstations, or change workstations frequently. For example, in a bar where staff lock workstations to prepare drinks. While one staff member prepares a drink, other staff can unlock their workstation to take a different order. After they've prepared the drinks, the original staff member can log in to retrieve their order and take payment for it.
Please sign in to leave a comment.